Dreamland by Sarah Dessen + Soundtrack

4325

Title: Dreamland

Author: Sarah Dessen

Published: May 11th, 2004 by Speak

Genre: YA Drama

Rating: 4.5/5

Summary:

Caitlin was always in her sister’s shadow then one day she isn’t. On the morning of her 16th birthday Caitlin get up to find out her sister has left town with her boyfriend and is not coming back. Her sister’s disappearance sends her mother into a state of denial and her life into an emotional roller coaster. The she meets Rogerson a dangerous boy who make Caitlin’s life seem bearable. But when Rogerson begins to abuse Caitlin she begins to wonder if his love is worth the abuse.

Review:

This book showed the sides to an abusive relationship in a way that made me rethink my choices. I always wondered why abused women didn’t leave and this book showed me that sometimes they felt the love was worth the pain. We watch Caitlin become a shell of her old self and how she begins to doubt how she ever could stand living without him. This book was painful to read. Sometimes I stopped in the middle and took a breath because it was too painful to read. I loved this books blatant honesty and how it showed real pain.

“I was worn out, broken: He had taken almost everything. But he’d been all I’d had, all this time. And when the police led him away, I pulled out of the hands of all these loved one, sobbing, screaming, everything hurting, to try and make him stay.”

The writing was honest and made me ask myself “What is the true cost for love?”

I thought this song fit the book;

Ingrid Michaelson – Ready to Lose (feat. Trent Dabbs)

Leave a Reply

