Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Shatter 71GXQFa+RRLMe

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Published: November 15th, 2011

Genre: YA Dystopian

Rating: 4/5

Summary:

Juliette has a curse gift she can hurt people with her touch. Juliette has always been isolated her whole life nobody talked to her and nobody cared enough to try. Juliet’s parents send her away to an insane asylum and she is left there in isolation for 264 days. Then one day she gets a roommate, a male roommate images.  So when we meet Adam (her roommate) we realize she is living in a dystopian world that is starving and falling apart. A group called The Reestablishment was the world’s last hope but she finds out they are a corrupt group that is taking advantage of the world. Juliette is broken out of her prison by The Reestablishment and meets one of their leaders, Warner. While staying with the Reestablishment Juliette realizes that Warner is obsessed with making her a weapon. Juliette and Adam fall in love and make a plan to escape. They escape with Adam’s younger brother and friend Kenji and they join The Resistance where Juliette has to make the decision to fight for who she loves or run for her life.

Review:

This book was amazing I felt it combined fantasy and dystopian effortlessly. I loved the love triangle between Juliette, Adam, and Warner. I felt the love triangle symbolized her decision to embrace her evil or strive for good. The author had so many great lines in this book that symbolized the human condition.

Here are some of my favorite;

“The world is flat. I know because I was tossed right off the edge and I’ve been trying to hold on for 17 years. I’ve been trying to climb back up for 17 years but it’s nearly impossible to beat gravity when no one is willing to give you a hand. When no one wants to risk touching you.”

.

“Sometimes weak and wan, sometimes strong and full of light. The moon understands what it means to be human. Uncertain. Alone. Cratered with imperfections.”

I am a BIG fan of a good antagonist and Warner is a fabulous fucking antagonist. He is hot, dangerous, obsessive, and he has a checkered past full of a sick mom and an absent father. My ABSOLUTE favorite quote in the whole book is about him!

“He’s like a feral dog, crazed and wild, thirsty for chaos, simultaneously aching for recognition and acceptance. Love.”

The one thing I don’t like about this book is Juliette is constantly relying on other characters for her strength, this book would have been a 5/5 for me if she was more “I’m a strong independent women” instead of “Well my boyfriend wants to save the world so I should too.”

I thought this song fit the book;

Fall Out Boy – Alone Together

“I don’t know where you’re going
But do you got room for one more troubled soul?
I don’t know where I’m going
But I don’t think I’m coming home and I said
I’ll check in tomorrow if I don’t wake up dead
This is the road to ruin
And we’re starting at the end”

XOXO,

Madison

2 thoughts on “Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

