In Deep by Terra Elan McVoy

Title: In Deep

Author: Terra Elan McVoy

Genre: YA

Rating: 2.8

Summary:

Eat. Breathe.Swim.

Brynn cares about nothing else as she trains to win. Ever since her father died Brynn focused on leaving her past behind her.  Once she gets in the water she forgets about her distant mother, lack of real friends, and mediocre grades. To Brynn swimming is an escape and a way to finally leave her past behind. As Brynn begins to see her goals, her life changes and Brynn is left wondering if swimming is her escape or the thing that is stopping her from living.

Review:

This book was a big disappointment for me. I felt like the author was pushing the plot on me and adding unnecessary aspects to try to make it better. I felt that it was difficult to connect to the characters and the plot. Brynn had many emotional issues and I felt that the book never really resolved them. Brynn was a stereotypical character and she was easily predictable. She hated the world and the author never really showed more than one side to her. The author forced this plot and the character was not able to grow because of it. This story was a hot mess, it tried to include every stereotypical aspect of any YA novel:

  • A Love Triangle
  • Dysfunctional Best Friends
  • Bad Grades
  • Cheating on a Boyfriend
  • A Hot College Guy
  • Moral Issues
  • Sleeping with Your Friends BF
  • Self Esteem Issues
  • Annoying Step Dads
  • A Dead Father
  • Poverty
  • Gambling Problems
  • And a Distant Mother Doesn’t Understand

In the end I was done with this book and I was like;

XOXO,

Madison

I felt this song fit the story;

Nelly Furtado – I’m Like A Bird

And I won’t ever change
And though my love is rare
And though my love is true
I’m like a bird
I’ll only fly away
I don’t know where my soul is (soul is)
I don’t know where my home is
And I need for you to know
Your faith in me brings me to tears
Even after all these years
And it pains me so much to tell
That you don’t know me that well”
One thought on “In Deep by Terra Elan McVoy

  1. Pingback: The Frozen Book Tag!!! | Paper Perfection

Leave a Reply

