The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) by Kody Keplinger

kody-keplinger-the-duffTitle: The DUFF  (Designated Ugly Fat Friends)

Author: Kody Keplinger

Published: September 7th, 2010

Genre: YA

Rating: 3.8

Summary:

Bianca had always been the “black sheep” in her group of friends she doesn’t like big parties or gossiping about new trends. So when she’s in a small teen club drinking a cherry coke she is surprised to hear from Wesley Rush that she is the DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend). After this Bianca begins to question every thought she’s ever had about herself. As her parent’s marriage crumbles and her dad begins drinking again Bianca takes solace in the one man who started it all, Wesley Rush. As Bianca and Wesley begin to grow closer through their “enemies-with-benefits” relationship she begins to realize that Wesley is a person with his own problems and he’s not just the womanizer he’s rumored to be.

Review:

Bianca reminds me of that one friend that every one has she’s witty, interesting, and always cynical. I liked this book’s message but I felt it was predictable. In the end she ended up falling in love with Wesley and I really wanted her to figure out she didn’t need a man to define herself. I had higher expectations for this book but I felt it had a pretty good ending and an interesting plot. Bianca was exposed for who she really was which helped her realize what she wanted to be. I found her funny and forgiving and I think the author portrayed her well. Kody Keplinger humanized a character by exposing the human tendency to want to be loved and to ignore the pain around us. She exposed every girl’s inner insecurities and told everyone that they don’t matter.

“Calling Vikki a slut or a whore was just like calling someone the DUFF. It was insulting and hurtful, and it was one of those titles that just fed off of an inner fear every girl must have from time to time. Slut, bitch, prude, tease, ditz. They were all the same. Every girl felt like one of these sexist labels described her at some point. So, maybe, every girl felt like the DUFF, too?”

This book made me realize sometimes I feel like a DUFF and that’s okay.

XOXO,

Madison

I thought this song fit the book;

Bastille– Flaws

“When all of your flaws and all of my flaws
Are laid out one by one
The wonderful part of the mess that we made
We pick ourselves undone
All of your flaws and all of my flaws
They lie there hand in hand
Ones we’ve inherited, ones that we learned
They pass from man to man
There’s a hole in my soul
I can’t fill it, I can’t fill it
There’s a hole in my soul
Can you fill it? Can you fill it?
You have always worn your flaws upon your sleeve
And I have always buried them deep beneath the ground
Dig them up; let’s finish what we’ve started
Dig them up, so nothing’s left untouched”
Leave a Reply

