My Thoughts On Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli and “fitting in”

So, in my last post I talked about how I just recently finished up Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. But, what I didn’t mention is that was the THIRD time I read that book and if you know my reading habits well you know that I almost never re-read. So, Stargirl is an outlier for me just and she was an outlier herself as a character. Because I love this book so much I just thought I’d have a little chat about it with you guys online and we can really just explore the ideas and concepts of this book that I find so endearing. The thing that keeps drawing me back to this book is of course, Stargirl. She is enlightening, amazing, and so overwhelmingly positive and kind it makes my heart shine.

“She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl. We did not know what to make of her. In our minds we tried to pin her to a cork board like a butterfly, but the pin merely went through and away she flew.”

While this book has it’s flaws Stargirl is what makes it all better for me Stargirl is the kind of girl I want to be. And, because of my undying love for her I probably do not see her flaws so please do not make me aware of them. I think what astounds me most about her is her incredible sense of self and never-ending care she has for others. She sings students happy birthday on their birthday and she makes cards for strangers who shes never met.What I really love about her is that she is a person who cares for others with no ulterior motive.

The main idea that Jerry Spinelli tries to confront in this book is conformity the idea of “fitting in.” I’m sure we all know about this idea of “fitting in” especially those of us in high school like myself. The thing is it’s tough to be different and truly be yourself when we live in a world where there’s so much pressure to be like everyone else. Especially during our teenage years when we have so much to deal with and the majority of the time fitting in is so much easier than standing out. This book shows both sides of this perspective by having Leo’s perspective who always tries to fit in and stay with the crowd and having Stargirl who is just so beautifully brave and loves being exactly who she is. The author shows these contrasts well and really shows the idea that being yourself is absolutely beautiful but its not easy. I guess I can’t really explain all of my thoughts on this book in writing. But, what I really wanted to say was that this book really shows that if you be yourself other people can truly see the beauty that shines within you and while everyone may not like it you will love yourself. This book is a beautiful read and I highly suggest you read it.

Sorry for the general craziness of this post.

till next time…

xoxo,

Madison

-comment down below if you want to talk about life, love, and infinitely more-

also here’s some of some quotes about the beautiful girl stargirl ❤

“You’ll know her more by your questions than by her answers. Keep looking at her long enough. One day you might see someone you know.”

“The earth is speaking to us, but we can’t hear because of all the racket our senses are making. Sometimes we need to erase them, erase our senses. Then – maybe – the earth will touch us. The universe will speak. The stars will whisper.”

“She was bendable light: she shone around every corner of my day.”

Leave a Reply

